Our 7th Annual TUFF Award Winners


On Sunday, Sept. 15th, we announced with great excitement the 2013 The Toronto Urban Film Festival (TUFF) award recipients and celebrated the festival’s best one-minute, silent films at the 7th annual TUFF Awards Gala held at Toronto’s infamous Drake Hotel.

Veteran Canadian filmmaker Bruce McDonald was this year’s guest judge with first prize going to Timothy David Orme (Fort Collins, USA) for the hand –drawn animation Afterlight. Second prize went to James Vandewater and William Allinson (Toronto, Canada) for the slap-stick hullabaloo Slow Win, and third prize to Nathan Hughes-Berry and Madeleine Sims-Fewer (London, UK) for the poetic short Inked.  Toronto’s Naish McHugh Award for Emerging Toronto Filmmakers went to Joanne Mau and Gordon Yao for Reminisce, and the Viewers’ Choice Award went to Kenny Wong and Alex Gravenstein (Montreal, PQ) for with The Roommate.

To view these films and the other twelve winners picked by TUFF Director, Sharon Switzer, and programmer, Angie Driscoll check out:  


We congratulate all the inspirational filmmakers who participated in TUFF this year! Huge thanks to all of our amazing sponsors for helping us make this the best TUFF year yet! Prizes awarded for the 7th annual TUFF totaled $20,000 in cash and in-kind products and services. For more information on this year’s awards and sponsors including Art for CommutersPattison Onestop, the Ontario Arts Council and NBCUniversal Canada check out our website at http://www.torontourbanfilmfestival.com


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s